Sybase NNTP forums - End Of Life (EOL)

The NNTP forums from Sybase - forums.sybase.com - are now closed.

All new questions should be directed to the appropriate forum at the SAP Community Network (SCN).

Individual products have links to the respective forums on SCN, or you can go to SCN and search for your product in the search box (upper right corner) to find your specific developer center.

Backup Server Cannot Stop

4 posts in Backup and Recovery Last posting was on 2001-05-22 20:43:02.0Z
YM CHIN Posted on 2001-05-04 09:57:10.0Z
From: "YM CHIN" <ymchin@asiatravelmart.com>
Subject: Backup Server Cannot Stop
Date: Fri, 4 May 2001 17:57:10 +0800
Lines: 16
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Outlook Express 4.72.3155.0
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V4.72.3155.0
Message-ID: <MotE5QI1AHA.261@forums.sybase.com>
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery
NNTP-Posting-Host: 202.187.122.15
Path: forums-1-dub!forums-master.sybase.com!forums.sybase.com
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery:275
Article PK: 1060792

Hi,

I can not shutdown the Backup Server using ISQL and the error message are

Backup Cannot Stop
------------------
No language handler installed.
Language cmd: shutdown

Thanks in Advance.

Regards,
YM.chin


Sam Posted on 2001-05-04 17:19:34.0Z
From: sam
Date: Fri, 4 May 2001 13:19:34 -0400
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery
Subject: Re: Backup Server Cannot Stop
Message-ID: <399E47663F5FBAC5005F2D1285256A42.003A18BD85256A42@webforums>
References: <MotE5QI1AHA.261@forums.sybase.com>
Lines: 9
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Path: forums-1-dub!forums-master.sybase.com!forums.sybase.com!webforums.sybase.com!news
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery:274
Article PK: 1060793

Hi chin,
Log on to dataserver and give shutdown <backupserver name> ,that
is backupserver name in sysservers name.you cannot
communicate to a backup server directly....

Hope this helps....


sam


Pratap_LG Posted on 2001-05-22 20:37:20.0Z
From: Pratap_LG
Date: Tue, 22 May 2001 16:37:20 -0400
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery
Subject: Re: Backup Server Cannot Stop
Message-ID: <C15020FE0B046623007147EF85256A54.0014497985256A52@webforums>
References: <MotE5QI1AHA.261@forums.sybase.com> <399E47663F5FBAC5005F2D1285256A42.003A18BD85256A42@webforums>
Lines: 5
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Path: forums-1-dub!forums-master.sybase.com!forums.sybase.com!webforums.sybase.com!news
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery:233
Article PK: 1060751

If this cannot help, then, use Kill -9 <process id of backup server> to
kill the backup server. Then restart the backup server with dataserver
command. It should work fine. Try it...

Pratap


Pratap_LG Posted on 2001-05-22 20:43:02.0Z
From: Pratap_LG
Date: Tue, 22 May 2001 16:43:02 -0400
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery
Subject: Re: Backup Server Cannot Stop
Message-ID: <B8ACC5A31CAE41E20071CDB185256A54.0071480885256A54@webforums>
References: <MotE5QI1AHA.261@forums.sybase.com> <399E47663F5FBAC5005F2D1285256A42.003A18BD85256A42@webforums> <C15020FE0B046623007147EF85256A54.0014497985256A52@webforums>
Lines: 4
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Path: forums-1-dub!forums-master.sybase.com!forums.sybase.com!webforums.sybase.com!news
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlserver.backup+recovery:232
Article PK: 1060750

Sorry, use the backupserver command to start the Backupserver. I was wrong
in my previous resonse.

Pratap